Regional Cooperation

Regional Cooperation

European Territorial Cooperation (ETC), better known as Interreg, is a programme aiming at stimulating cooperation between regions in the European Union.

Interreg provides a framework for the implementation of joint projects between national, regional and local actors from different Member States.

Interreg is built around three strands of cooperation: cross-border (Interreg A), transnational (Interreg B) and interregional (Interreg C).

Download our mapping documents containing information on health projects identified within each of the three Interreg programmes here:

Interreg A - Cross-border cooperation

European Cross-Border cooperation, known as Interreg A, supports cooperation between adjacent regions from at least two different Member States. It aims at tackling common challenges identified jointly in the border regions, while enhancing the cooperation process for the purposes of the overall harmonious development of the Union. More info

Interreg B -Transnational cooperation

Transnational cooperation, known as Interreg B, involves regions from several countries of the EU forming bigger areas. It aims at promoting better cooperation and regional development within the Union among non-contiguous regions from different Member States and to tackle common challenges. More info:

Interreg C - Interregional cooperation

Interregional cooperation, known as Interreg C, works at pan-European level, covering all EU Member States and areas outside the EU. The aim of this programme is to build networks to develop good practice and facilitate the exchange and transfer of experience by successful regions. More info